The joints – essential
for an active life

An upright posture, walking, standing, gripping and much more would not be possible without our cartilage and bones, muscles and joints. Together, they make up our body’s locomotor system, which has to cope with a huge range of different responsibilities and enables us to move about easily.

Effective absorption

Joints are the movable connection between two bones. To ensure that the two joint surfaces do not rub against one another when they move, these surfaces are covered in a smooth protective layer of cartilage. This joint cartilage is only 1 to 5 mm thick, depending on the type of joint. It is closely connected to the joint’s bone and, thanks to its water-absorbing characteristics, it functions in a similar way to an elastic buffer or shock absorber. It absorbs the pressure and distributes it evenly over the bone.

As there are only a small number of cells in the cartilage, the metabolism and the related cartilage formation progress very slowly.

Running smoothly

In the same way as a hinge, the joints also require enough lubrication to ensure that the surfaces do not rub against each other when they move. This joint lubrication, which is also called joint fluid (synovial fluid), is produced by the synovial membrane. It is also the responsibility of the synovial fluid to supply the cartilage with important nutrients and to remove end products of metabolism. The joint lubrication mainly consists of hyaluronic acid, proteins, sugar and water.

Keep moving

To ensure that exercise remains fun in the long term, we must take care to maintain the health in particular of our joints, cartilage and bones. And there is a lot that can be done: light exercise strengthens the muscles, puts less pressure on the cartilage and helps to improve bone stability. Your overall physical fitness improves, which in turn has a positive effect on your general well-being.

Schematic diagram of a normal joint 

Healthy food for healthy joints

A well-balanced diet is important to ensure that the joints receive a good supply of nutrients that actively sustain the cartilage and bones. It is particularly good for both the cartilage and the bones if your diet is rich in vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin K and calcium. Vitamin C contributes to normal collagen formation for the normal functioning of cartilage and bones. And calcium is required for the maintenance of normal bones. Vitamins D and K, and also zinc and manganese contribute to the maintenance of normal bones.

Important nutrients for the joints

Certain cartilage constituents are especially important; these are glucosamine sulphate, chondroitin sulphate, hyaluronic acid and collagen. They are found in the normal cartilage tissue and in the joint fluid, and are closely connected with each other in the cartilage metabolism. Glucosamine is an amino sugar which is found in the body in hyaluronic acid, for instance. The important constituents of the cartilage matrix also include chondroitin sulphate. The joint fluid contains a particularly large amount of hyaluronic acid, a long-chain molecule.

How do the nutrients enter the joints?

As the cartilage is not connected to the blood circulation system, it receives its supply from the joint fluid (synovial fluid) which is situated in the intra-articular space between the two joint surfaces. In this process, when it is under strain, the cartilage is squeezed like a sponge; new joint fluid that is rich in nutrients is then absorbed by the cartilage when the strain is relieved. A regular changeover between applying and relieving strain, and a diet which supplies a sufficient amount of nutrients that actively sustain the joints, therefore contribute to maintaining healthy cartilage.

Exercise with reduced pressure on your joints: basic tips

Well-balanced physical activity is more suitable for maintaining healthy cartilage than sports that involve extreme strain or jumping, energetic twisting or rapid changes of direction. Smooth movements without using force are ideal as the joints are moved evenly throughout their whole range of motion.

keyvisual_arthrose
Orthomol Arthro plus

Gelenke – Voraussetzung
für ein bewegtes Leben

Eine aufrechte Haltung, Gehen, Stehen, Greifen und vieles mehr wäre gar nicht möglich ohne unsere Knorpel und Knochen, Muskeln und Gelenke. Zusammen bilden sie den Stütz- und Bewegungsapparat unseres Körpers, der vielfältige Aufgaben zu meistern hat und uns ein mobiles Leben erst ermöglicht.

Ein wirkungsvoller Dämpfer

Gelenke sind die beweglichen Verbindungen zwischen zwei Knochen. Damit die beiden Gelenkflächen nicht bei jeder Bewegung aneinander reiben, sind sie von einer schützenden glatten Knorpelschicht überzogen. Je nach Art der Gelenke ist diese Schicht nur 1–5 mm dick. Sie ist eng mit dem Gelenkknochen verbunden und wirkt dank ihrer wasserspeichernden Eigenschaften wie ein elastischer Puffer oder Stoßdämpfer. Sie fängt den Druck ab und verteilt ihn gleichmäßig auf die Gelenkknochen.

Da im Knorpel nur wenige Zellen vorhanden sind, verlaufen der Stoffwechsel und der damit verbundene Knorpelaufbau sehr langsam. 

Alles läuft wie geschmiert

Wie bei einem Scharnier benötigen auch die Gelenke ausreichend Schmiere, damit die Flächen bei Bewegung nicht aufeinanderreiben. Diese Gelenkschmiere, auch Gelenkflüssigkeit (Synovia) genannt, wird von der Gelenkinnenhaut produziert. Daneben hat die Synovia die Aufgabe, dem Knorpel wichtige Nährstoffe zuzuführen und Stoffwechsel-Endprodukte zu entfernen. Die Gelenkschmiere enthält vor allem Hyaluronsäure, Eiweiße, Zucker und Wasser.

Immer in Bewegung bleiben

Damit wir langfristig Spaß an der Bewegung haben, müssen wir uns um die Gesunderhaltung insbesondere der Gelenke, Knorpel und Knochen kümmern. Und da kann man einiges tun: Leichte sportliche Betätigung kräftigt die Muskeln, schont den Knorpel und fördert die Knochenstabilität. Die gesamte körperliche Fitness wird verbessert, was sich wiederum positiv auf das allgemeine Wohlbefinden auswirkt.

Schematische Darstellung eines normalen Gelenks

Gesundes Essen für gesunde Gelenke

Um eine gute Versorgung der Gelenke mit knorpel- und knochenaktiven Nährstoffen zu gewährleisten, ist eine ausgewogene Ernährung wichtig. Besonders gut für Knorpel und Knochen ist es, wenn die Nahrung reich an Vitamin C, Vitamin D, Vitamin K und Calcium ist. Denn Vitamin C trägt zur normalen Kollagenbildung für eine normale Funktion von Knorpel und Knochen bei. Und Calcium wird zum Erhalt des normalen Knochens benötigt. Auch Vitamin D und K sowie Zink und Mangan tragen zum Erhalt des normalen Knochens bei.

Wichtige Nährstoffe für die Gelenke

Besonders wichtige Knorpelbestandteile sind Glucosaminsulfat, Chondroitinsulfat, Hyaluronsäure und Kollagen. Diese sind im normalen Knorpelgewebe bzw. in der Gelenkflüssigkeit vorhanden und innerhalb des Knorpelstoffwechsels eng miteinander verbunden. Bei Glucosamin handelt es sich um einen sog. Aminozucker, der im Körper u. a. in der Hyaluronsäure vorkommt. Zu den wichtigen Bestandteilen der Knorpelmatrix zählt auch Chondroitinsulfat. Hyaluronsäure, ein langkettiges Molekül, findet sich insbesondere in der Gelenkflüssigkeit.

Wie kommen die Nährstoffe in die Gelenke?

Da der Knorpel nicht an den Blutkreislauf angeschlossen ist, wird er über die Gelenkflüssigkeit (Synovia) versorgt, die sich im Gelenkspalt zwischen den beiden Gelenkflächen befindet. Dies geschieht, indem der Knorpel bei Belastung wie ein Schwamm ausgepresst wird; bei Entlastung wird wiederum nährstoffreiche Gelenkflüssigkeit in den Knorpel aufgenommen. Ein regelmäßiger Wechsel zwischen Be- und Entlastung sowie eine Ernährung mit einer ausreichenden Menge gelenkaktiver Nährstoffe tragen also dazu bei, den Knorpel gesund zu erhalten.

Gelenkschonende Bewegung: grundsätzliche Tipps

Wohldosierte körperliche Aktivität ist für die Gesunderhaltung des Knorpels besser geeignet als Sportarten mit Extrem- oder Sprungbelastungen, intensiven Drehbewegungen oder schnellen Richtungswechseln. Optimal sind fließende Bewegungen ohne Krafteinsatz, die das Gelenk gleichmäßig durchbewegen.